Book Review: Cursed by Cupid by Wendy Sparrow

Cursed by CupidIn Cursed by Cupid by Wendy Sparrow, Tilly Morrow does something we all have been wont to do: she breaks one of those email chain letters with dire warnings with wonderful things that happen when you pass it on to friends and dire consequences if you don’t. Three years later, Tilly is still suffering the effects of her ill-advised decision to break the chain. She hasn’t had a second date in just as long. She’s giving up on trying and is accepting that the curse on her is going to keep her from ever finding true love.

Enter Bryant Murphy. After a couple of embarrassing mishaps, Tilly ends up in his store. He’s attracted to the quirky woman, and not put off by the curse at all. Tilly thinks Bryant would be perfect for her: his cute and funny. But with a curse looming over her head, she’s determined to spare Bryant the misfortune that would come his way should he go on a date with her. Too bad Bryant won’t be deterred. Can Bryant be the guy to lift Tilly’s curse?

Review: I LOVED this story! Cursed by Cupid is one of those stories where you just have to laugh out loud at the unfortunate events that happen to poor Tilly. The writing was fresh and funny, particularly the dialogue between Tilly and Bryant. This story was just fun. There was no angst overload, no brooding alpha male, and no epic, melodramatic pronunciations of love (which, don’t get me wrong, I like if used right), yet this story managed to get me invested in the characters and worried about their happily ever after.

The only thing I didn’t like about this story is that it’s short–only 50 pages. I was disappointed I didn’t get to read more of Tilly and Bryant’s story, but I didn’t feel like I missed out on the important parts, and I felt confident that they could get it right from here on out. I would recommend this (very) fast read to anyone looking for a good laugh and witty dialogue–and who isn’t afraid of a little curse.

Cursed by Cupid: * * * */5 stars for light hearted humor, quick wit, and a loveable couple. Points off for possibly passing on a curse. (I kid.)

XOXO,

Erica

P.S. I’ve totally fulfilled my duty to pass this on to three friends in the writing of this post. You know, just in case. 😉

Leave a Reply

