Author Amy Vastine Talks Up a Storm about The Weather Girl

div style=”text-align: center;”>

A themed tour with Prism Book Tours

Welcome to my stop for the April Showers Book Tour for

The Weather Girl

by Amy Vastine

The Weather Girl Book Cover

 

The Weather Girl
by Amy Vastine
Clean Adult Contemporary Romance
January 1st 2014 by Harlequin

Erica: Today, I am pleased to bring you guys a guest post from the lovely and talented Amy  Vastine! I’ve been following Amy’s journey since before she was published and was so excited when I saw that her debut, The Weather Girl,  was being published by Harlequin. I’ll be back in to give a review of her debut in a future post, but right now, I’m turning over Copywrite1985 to Amy. Enjoy!

Thank you so much for hosting me on your blog today! I am so excited to be here and be able to promote my debut novel, The Weather Girl. In the book, Summer Raines is a quirky meteorologist in West Texas who falls in love with the fallen football hero, Travis Lockwood.

 

Having grown up with two brothers and a father who still talks about the good ol’ days playing ball in high school as well as being the mother of two boys who play, I felt pretty confident about my football knowledge. The weather, on the other hand, was something on which I needed to do a little research.

 

Summer tends to rattle off some pretty obscure weather facts when she’s nervous, so finding interesting tidbits took some time but made me a fan of Mother Nature. The photographs I saw while researching this story blew me away! From Texas hail the size of baseballs to lightning storms in Venezuela, there are some amazing stories out there.

 

One of the dilemmas that Summer faces is should she or shouldn’t she take the job of her dreams, a job that would allow her to travel around the world and see these weather phenomena first-hand. An old family friend tries to lure her by sending her examples of some of the adventures she would go on if she took the job. My favorite is when he tempts her to come to Finland to see the northern lights from a glass igloo.

 

In reality, there is this incredible resort in the Laplands where you can stay in these glass igloo rooms. Here’s a link to the website if you’re interested – http://www.kakslauttanen.fi/. There’s something about the northern lights that intrigues me. I hope to go see them someday, maybe not in Finland but perhaps in Canada!

 

I also have a Pinterest board for The Weather Girl where I have a bunch of weather-related pictures – http://www.pinterest.com/vastine7/the-weather-girl/. My favorite picture on there is either of the sky punch or the sky wave. They make the boring clouds drifting over my house seem very boring. If you get a chance, check it out!

 

Do you have a favorite weather event? Are you thrilled by tornados or maybe love to watch it rain?

Weather Girl - Amy Vastine

 Amy Vastine has been plotting stories in her head for as long as she can remember. An eternal optimist, she studied social work, hoping to teach others how to find their silver lining. Now, she enjoys creating happily ever afters for all to read.

In September of 2012, she saw a tweet about Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write contest. She entered, hoping for nothing more than a little feedback from some people in the business. Amazingly, The Weather Girl made it into the semi-finals, thanks to the many wonderful voters out there! The manuscript didn’t make it to the finals, but the editors over Harlequin were still interested. A few revisions later and The Weather Girl was contacted for publication with Harlequin Heartwarming – a dream come true!
Amy lives outside Chicago with her high school sweetheart-turned-husband, three fun-loving children, and their sweet but mischievous puppy dog.

2 thoughts on “Author Amy Vastine Talks Up a Storm about The Weather Girl

  1. Pingback: Prism Book Tours: “The Weather Girl” by Amy Vastine Grand Finale/Giveaway (Ends 5/11) WW | My Devotional Thoughts

Leave a Reply

