Friday Feature: Cover Loving by Avril Tremayne

Erica here! Welcome to another Friday Feature! Today, Harlequin and Random Romance author Avril Tremayne is discussing covers. Avril’s fun and flirty style is what got her noticed in both Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write 2013 and Wattpad contests. Since then, Avril’s published six booksIf you’d like to win a free ebook of Avril’s newest release, just leave a comment. 

There are so many blogs out there about book covers – good covers, bad covers, cover trends, choosing covers – and one thing I know for sure: I am clueless!
In fact, my cover cluelessness is one of the main impediments to my becoming a self-publishing author.
I’ll give you an example. The first book I ever put on Wattpad, Signed, Sealed, Delivered, shocked me by becoming quickly and very successful. There was only one recurring criticism: that the cover (which I designed myself) did not do the story justice. In the interests of full disclosure, I’m sharing it here, alongside the much more fabulous cover of the version published earlier this year under its new title, The Contract.
Image 1Image 2

I’ve published seven books, and for those books, I’ve had 15 covers market-by-market and edition-by-edition, featuring everything from headless torsos to frolicking heroines to little boys. But I haven’t thought deeply about the subject until a month ago, when I hit the cover jackpot with my latest book, Escaping Mr Right, which comes out in October. Not only does the cover couple look almost exactly as I picture my heroine and hero, but the whole feel of the image is as sexily delicious as I believe the book to be.
There was only one tiny issue niggling at the back of my mind. Escaping Mr Right is book two in a trilogy, and the cover of book one (Wanting Mr Wrong), which has been out in the world since February, is a very different beast. So what? I decided; the books may be ‘attached’ via their characters, but they are nevertheless definitely standalone stories.
The end, I thought.
My wonderful publisher, Random House, however, thought not the end, and redesigned the cover of Wanting Mr Wrong. Both the old and the new Wanting Mr Wrong covers are pretty fabulous, but they’re also very different. One’s a little flirtier; the other’s a little sexier. Take a look…

Image 3Image 4

Now, I write flirty, sexy books, so both covers ‘fit’, but in this particular instance, I’m barracking for the sexier one. First – because it lets readers know they’re not getting a squeaky clean ‘sweet’ read. Second – because there’s enough pop and colour and flirt to suggest that while this book is a sexy read, it’s doesn’t veer into erotica territory. Third – because together, Wanting Mr Wrong and Escaping Mr Right really do look like a ‘family’.

Image 4Image 5

I’d love to hear your views – which (if any) of these covers grabs you? And in general, what is the kind of cover you love best?

Image 4Wanting Mr Wrong
Evie Parker has never been one to swoon after celebrities – give her a neuroscientist over an actor any day! So when she develops her first movie-star crush, she’s determined to date her way out of it, starting with the next good-looking doctor she sees.
Yet hovering on the fringes of her life is her gay best friend’s determined brother, Jackson J Stevens, a famous actor who comes with trailing paparazzi. The one thing worse than a celebrity in Evie’s eyes is a media circus, so Jack isn’t an option no matter how hard he flirts with her.
Evie knows what she doesn’t want; Jack knows what he does. And somewhere in the middle, pheromones are making things go haywire every time they’re together.
Buy link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00PI46TI0

Avril Tremayne has wanted to be a writer ever since reading Jane Eyre as a teenager, but navigated diverse careers along the way,  including, shoe-selling, nursing, teaching, public relations and corporate affairs – most recently in global aviation.

Returning to her home city of Sydney, Australia, after a three year stint in the Middle East, she finally decided in 2013 to kick-start her last career as a romance writer, and pens the types of tales she likes to read – sexy, funny, urban stories.

When she’s not writing or reading, Avril can generally be found eating – although she does not cook – drinking wine, and obsessing about shoes.
website facebook twitter pinterest

Leave a Reply

