NaNoWriMo and Fiction Re-Ignition

I’ve been focusing more on creative non-fiction than I have on fiction in both my reading and writing for quite some time. However, being fired has given me time to miss reading fiction and writing it. I’ve been immersing myself in fictional worlds, escaping from my own monotonous and sometimes anxiety ridden reality.

I’ve decided on a novel to work on for NaNoWriMo, an inspirational romance featuring characters who have appeared in other works in my fictional town in Northwest Georgia. I think I have a good feel for the characters and the conflict, but I’m still working out the kinks. Hopefully I can write consistently for the month on the project. I’ll consider that a win even if I don’t get to write the words The End.

As far as fiction reading goes, it’s mostly been Harlequin romances, but I’m expanding. I am reading Stephen King’s The Shining right now. I am more than halfway through. I plan to get back to Lullaby by Chuck  Palahniuk soon. I want to get Donna Tartt’s The Little Friend. Then I’ll need a break from dark fiction and find something less scary but just as deep.

I’m going back to reviewing books, and boy do I have a lot to review. I read a few from my 2016 reading list (a very few) that need to be reviewed, and I can’t wait to share them. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert and A Curious Mind by Brian Grazer are two which stand out to me. Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst is also on the list.

What have you all been reading?

Leave a Reply

